The Shame of Menstruating

Menstruation Matters

Un año de aventuras en Ecuador

**This blog post was originally published on the Days for Girls International Blog here: http://www.daysforgirls.org/#!The-Shame-of-Menstruating-Menstrual-Hygiene-Day/c2g3/556743480cf24874176403b3.

#MenstruationMatters because every woman & girl deserves to feel EMPOWERED by her period, rather than ashamed. #MenstruationMatters because every woman & girl deserves to feel EMPOWERED by her period, rather than ashamed.

I remember my first period. I was fourteen years old and it was just before Easter. I actually remember feeling excited. My grandmother sent me a tree of life necklace shortly thereafter – she sent one to each of us. She wanted us to remember that our periods were a symbol of the beautiful power of the female body. The tree symbolized the female power to create and sustain life. My mother told us that our periods were our “power time,” and encouraged us to see them as a gift rather than a burden.

Yet, I can say with confidence that my experience was pretty unique. Most girls around the world are not encouraged to talk publically about…

View original post 1,543 more words

Leave a Reply

